Rick’s answer: Your friends are right, Billie. Facebook no longer displays the “Share” button on posts that have their privacy levels set to “Friends”. Unfortunately, there’s no way to force the “Share” button to appear on posts that you mark as “Friends. That’s just the way it is now.
Don’t explicitly ask users to Like, comment on, or share your posts, either in text or photos. Facebook will detect this and reduce your reach. Don’t share the same content repeatedly.
That means that post is open to the public to see. If you have your profile settings set to “Friends”, then no one will be able to share your posts.
How to Get People to Share Your Content
- Make it easy for people to share your content. …
- Ask them to share it. …
- Use images. …
- Create “round-ups” as blog posts or other content. …
- Write listicles. …
- Write strong headlines. …
- Write long-form content.
If it’s a friend, that’s easy—you just click on the “share” button and tag them in your comment. It can be as simple as “Great post that @Kristen Daukas shared earlier today.” It’s a nice way to give them some credit as well as a compliment for the awesome content that they shared.
Facebook Help Team
If you share a post you see onto your friend’s Timeline, it will only appear on your friend’s Timeline, not on your own. However, you can also share a post you see onto your own Timeline for all of your Facebook friends to see. Why is ‘share’ sometimes not available?
You may not be able to share a memory if sharing wasn’t turned on for the original content or the memory isn’t shareable (example: posts by others on your timeline). Learn what audiences you can choose from when you share something.
Add a Facebook Share button to your site so that your visitors can easily share your site with their Facebook friends.
To add a Facebook Share button:
- Click Add on the left side of the Editor.
- Click Social.
- Under Facebook, click the Facebook Share button to add it, or drag it to the relevant location.
While the Like button allows users to share content with all of their friends, the Send button permits sending to a select group and, thus, is a more private form of sharing.
If Facebook friends tell you that they have tried to share one of your posts but cannot, you probably need to tweak your privacy settings to make sharing possible. Facebook’s privacy settings control every aspect of your profile from who can see your photos to who can see posts you make.
If your ability to post or comment in a group has been turned off, it may be because a group admin has temporarily turned off your ability to post and comment in their group.